top of page

Tonight's December "cold moon" is the final full moon of 2023

The final full moon of 2023 rises tonight and is December's "cold moon" and will illuminate the sky tonight.


The full moon in December is known as the "cold moon" due to the chilly air at this time of year.


The full "cold moon" will officially reach its fullest illumination at 7:33 p.m. Eastern time on Tuesday.


It was 98% full on Christmas night, and predicted to be 100% full on Tuesday night and again 100% full on Wednesday night, according to Moongiant.com.


Other names for tonight's Cold full Moon are "Snow Moon in the Haida and Cherokee traditions and "Long Night Moon" (the Mohican name for it) which refers to the fact it rises on the nights close to the winter solstice, which are the longest nights of the year.


The full moon will set around 8:12 a.m. EST (1312 GMT) the following day after the sun has risen around an hour earlier at 7:16 a.m. EST (1216 GMT), meaning the Cold Moon will be visible for the entire night. 


The next full moon will rise on January 25, 2024 and is January's Wolf Moon.


Make sure to get outdoors and take a photo if the sky is clear.